I was back on my current mission again this morning: looking up information on cell providers and phones. You see, my contract with Sprint expired in December and I'm ticked off at them.
DUMB
They saw fit to give away the Blackberry I wanted at that time to new Sprint customers at Best Buy. Great deal, I thought, being a 10-year customer of Sprint. I'll call up and ask for that, too, since I'm due for a new phone.
But no. They wanted me, a customer of 10 years, to pay $49.95 for that same phone. When the rep said I couldn't get that phone free, even knowing I was a long-time customer and that I was due a new phone, I asked for a higher-up. And I got the same response: "No. But you can buy it for only..." I also got, "When your contract expires, you can go up to Best Buy and sign up as a new customer, and then get it free."
WTF?! Is there a word to describe how stupid that is?
Yes, of course, I could have gone out in subzero temperatures and fought my way through the blizzard and the holiday shoppers...but why should I have to? Why make your customers go out of their way to continue to be your customers? Make it easy to continue to be your customer!
What I said to that was, "Thanks but no thanks. I'll just look for another service provider." (See how polite I was? Trust me, that is not what I was thinking.) They proceeded to try to talk me out of that, while sticking to their guns about not giving me what I had asked for.
No dice. Thank you and goodbye.
SMART
So, now I'm looking. I would love to get T-Mobile because a) they have a cool smart phone I'd like to have, b) the phone would be unlocked and you could take it to another provider and use it if you chose, and c) #4 in the market probably works harder to please their customers. However, T-Mobile's coverage map shows that while their signal would be great where I live, it wouldn't be so hot where I work and do some freelancing.
Two big questions remain:
What service provider should I go with?
Do I need/want what a smart phone offers over other phones sufficiently to justify the extra $30/mo. data plan?
I would really like to know what people are using their smart phones for the most. Is it making phone calls? Is it PDA functionality? Texting? You Tube? Is it necessary, or really just for fun? Could you do what you do on a nice not-smart phone with texting and camera and get by just fine?